6 January, 2014

book review

Perfect Lies (Mind Games #2) by Kiersten White

My Copy: ARC ePub eBook, 159 pages
Publication Date: February 18, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss

This explosive sequel to Mind Games, which New York Times bestselling author Holly Black called “a brutal, exciting gem of a book,” is perfect for fans of Sara Shepard’s The Lying Game series. Perfect Lies is a lightning-fast, wickedly smart tale of two sisters trapped in a web of deceit.

For years, Annie and Fia have been in an endless battle for survival against the Keane Foundation. Now the sisters have found allies who can help them escape. But Annie’s visions of the future and Fia’s flawless instincts can’t always tell them who to trust. The sisters can only rely on each other—and even their extraordinary gifts may not be enough to save them.

**A big thank you to HarperTeen and Edelweiss for providing me with this eARC!**
I was in no way compensated for this review. I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

My Review

Perfect Lies was all-in-all a pretty good book.  I liked it more than the first book, Mind Games, so I’m glad I decided to continue the series.  I really enjoyed the last bit of the story; it was completely captivating.  Especially considering what Annie saw and it had me wanting to know how it was all going to go down.  Kiersten White provided a great transition from Mind Games.  She didn’t overload the reader with information so that you feel like you are re-reading the first book, which seems to be much too common with sequels.  Just enough information was provided to spark the memories.

Like the first book, Perfect Lies is told in non-linear fashion.  There is no present time in this novel, which I found kind of odd.  I’m not sure exactly why that was.  I mean, I kind of get it, because it’s all leading up to something.  And I get why Annie’s chapters are the way they are, because she’s in the past and seeing things that will happen in the future.  But, why weren’t Fia’s chapters in the present?  They definitely could have been.  I don’t know.  It was a bit odd, but I guess it doesn’t really matter.  It still made sense.  There was no present time, just before and after a certain event.

I found that I liked Annie a lot better in this one.  I didn’t really care for her in Mind Games.  But, something was different with her character in this one.  She seemed more likable or something.  I also liked Annie’s relationship.  It was way more believable and much easier to get into than Fia and James.  I DO NOT like James!  And I think Fia is stupid for loving him.  She’s supposed to have perfect instincts but she chooses to love that jerk?  I don’t get it.

SIK’s Short ‘n’ Sweet Version (Point-form Style)


I Liked:
– The story.  It was better than the story in Mind Games and more interesting.  And more stuff happened in this one!  I especially liked the ending.
– The characters.  I liked Annie much more in this book than in the first.  Fia was pretty much the same, but I like her well enough.
– Like the first book, I like that the main relationship in the story is between the two sisters.
– The transition from the first to second book was well done.

I Didn’t Care For:
– James.
– Fia’s relationship with James.

3_5 stars blue

Looking for more opinions of this book?

Follow on Bloglovin

 

Other Posts You Might Like

Posted 6 January, 2014 by Sam in Book Reviews, Books / 0 CommentsTags: , , , , , ,


Like what you see? Subscribe and get posts like this delivered to your inbox!

Comments are closed.