8 April, 2013

book review

Taken (Taken #1) by Erin Bowman

My Copy: ARC Paperback,
Publication Date: April 16, 2013
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Received an ARC copy from publisher in exchange for an honest review

THERE ARE NO MEN IN CLAYSOOT.

There are boys — 
but every one of them vanishes 
at midnight on his eighteenth birthday. 
The villagers call it the Heist.

In her magnetic debut, Erin Bowman artfully blends reality and science fiction to create a haunting and unpredictable world perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Incarceron, with a twist that harkens back to The Giver.

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide
My Review
Taken is a YA Dystopia where all boys are “Heisted” on their eighteenth birthdays.  Nobody know the reasons for the disappearances of the boys or how it happens.  But, the community of Claysoot has come to expect and accept the strange happenings.  In this story, the reader is taken through the journey of a boy named Gray as he tries to find answers, because he is one of the few people in Claysoot who just cannot accept the Heist.  He needs to know why it keeps happening, especially after his brother is Heisted.  I thought the premise for this story was definitely interesting.  The world building wasn’t executed very well in the beginning.  I felt like I didn’t get a sense of what their little community was like until they were beyond the wall and started seeing unfamiliar things, like cars and flooring.  But, it got better as the story continued.

Gray is the main character and narrator of Taken.  He is a bit of a cowboy, acting on impulse and not caring about consequences until after.  I didn’t feel that I was able to connect with him very strongly.  He was an okay character though.  Likeable and strong.  But, not the most memorable or endearing character, in my opinion.  Gray’s two love interests, Emma and Bree, are both decent characters.  They are very different.  Emma is sweet and I want to say innocent, but she proves that she has rebellious qualities inside.  Bree is tough, emotionally and physically.  But, once we get to know her better, we see a softer side.

Overall, I was not completely taken by this book, but I definitely didn’t dislike it.  I liked it enough.  I will read the sequel once it is released.  This is one of those books that I’m not sure if I would recommend.  I’m not going to scream to the world to read it, that’s for sure; but, if you think it sounds interesting then I think it’s worth a shot.  See how you like it.
3_5 stars blue
A Peek Inside:
And then it happens, the same way it always does. The
ground beings to shake. It is soft at first, tiny pieces of
dirt and rubble bouncing about our feet, and then, 
suddenly, more violent. Some people drop to their knees,
unable to stay balanced. The wind howls. The world spins.
And then, light. It breaks from the sky like a spear shooting
through parchment, effortless and fluid. It expands, 
stretches, becomes so bright that it hurts my eyes.
(Visited 20 times, 1 visits today)

Other Posts You Might Like

Share

Posted 8 April, 2013 by Sam in Book Reviews, Books / 3 CommentsTags: , , , , ,


Like what you see? Subscribe and get posts like this delivered to your inbox!

3 Responses to “ARC Review: Taken”

  1. I’m with your assessment. I didn’t like Gray, actually. He annoyed me and I felt absolutely no connection to him at all. I also felt like the book was all over the place. The author kept introducing new concepts with no follow up. Nothing memorable about this and I doubt I will read the next one.

  2. I was very excited about this book when I first heard of it, and even after a few of the negative reviews hit the waves. But I have heard several times that there is a certain scene with Gray in the beginning with a girl, and that he got away with it. That alone makes me not so certain that I want to read it anymore. I usually have a need to be able to root for my main character, and it doesn’t seem like he is one to root for. I honestly don’t know if I will read it or not. It all depends on the circumstances I suppose!