23 December, 2013

book review

Uninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie Jordan

My Copy: ARC ePub, 241 pages
Publication Date: January 28, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss
Genre: Dystopian Science Fiction | Young Adult

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

My Review

I can always tell just how much I liked a book at the completion of it by the lack of notes I have on it.  I take notes while reading, just when I think of something for the review — things I liked or disliked.  But, when I get to the end of a book and look at my Google Keep drive and there are no notes to speak of, that says a lot for how much I loved the book.  Because when I am really into a book, I am not thinking of things that would go good in a review, I’m not stopping reading to jot something down; when I am really into a book, I just keep reading and reading.  Now, at the completion of Uninvited, I find myself in one of those spots.  No notes.  So, I’m wingin’ it!

Clearly, I really enjoyed this story.  I loved the unique concept and found it completely captivating.  I couldn’t wait to find out more of what was to happen.  Equally, I can’t wait to find out what happens in the sequel!  The story follows Davy Hamilton, who starts out as a kind, popular girl with a boyfriend whom she loves.  Then one day, she gets some news — news that is unexpected to everyone who knows her.  She has tested positive for HTS (the kill gene).  From that point on, everything in Davy’s life changes; she has to switch schools, her life becomes more dangerous, and she can’t trust anyone.

I loved the character of Davy.  She is a great character.  She is the last person you would suspect as having homicidal tendencies.  She is both weak and strong throughout the novel and she grows as a character.  I also really liked Sean.  He is guarded and tough, but caring on the inside.  Gotta love that tough guy who sticks up for kids who are being bullied.  However, I feel like there were things about Sean that were left unresolved at the end.  And I feel like I don’t truly know enough about him as I should because of those unresolved things.  For example, why was he always allowed to be late for school?  He never showed up until the afternoon, but rules were so strict for Davy’s hours as well as the others.  Was it just because he was so tough no one could touch him or tell him what to do?  That doesn’t really seem plausible to me.  Also, what did he do to get the imprint?  We never find this out either.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of unique, futuristic stories about strange things like kill genes!  I very much enjoyed it and I didn’t want to put it down.

SIK’s Short ‘n’ Sweet Version (Point-form Style)

I Liked:
– The unique concept and how it was delivered.
– The characters.  Especially Davy; I really felt for her and connected with her fully.
– The way the story completely captivated me and wouldn’t let go of my mind until I was done.

I Didn’t Care For:
– Unresolved character development with Sean.

4_5 stars blue
Follow on Bloglovin

 

Other Posts You Might Like

Share

Posted 23 December, 2013 by Sam in Book Reviews, Books / 2 CommentsTags: , , , , , ,


Like what you see? Subscribe and get posts like this delivered to your inbox!

2 Responses to “ARC Review: Uninvited”