Category: Book Reviews


Review: Restore Me by Tahereh Mafi

Review: Restore Me by Tahereh Mafi
16 April, 2018 / 1 Comment

Restore Me (Shatter Me #4) by Tahereh Mafi My Copy: Hardcover, 435 pages Publication Date: March 6, 2018 Publisher: HarperCollins Source: Purchased Juliette Ferrars thought she’d won. She took over Sector 45, was named the new Supreme Commander, and now has Warner by her side. But she’s still the girl with the ability to kill with a single touch—and now she’s got the whole world in the palm of her hand. When tragedy hits, who will she become? Will she be able to control the power she wields and use it for good? My Review That’s not how it ends!  How can that be […]


Review: Seriously…I’m Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres

Review: Seriously…I’m Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres
9 April, 2018 / 1 Comment

Seriously…I’m Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres My Copy: Audiobook Publication Date: October 4, 2011 Publisher: Grand Central Publishing Source: Library Ellen Degeneres’ winning, upbeat candor has made her show one of the most popular, resilient and honored daytime shows on the air, and her life makes for great (and very funny) reading. “I’ve experienced a whole lot the last few years and I have a lot to share. So I hope that you’ll take a moment to sit back, relax and enjoy the words I’ve put together for you in this book. I think you’ll find I’ve left no stone unturned, no door unopened, no […]


Review: The Book of You by Claire Kendal

Review: The Book of You by Claire Kendal
3 April, 2018 / 1 Comment

The Book of You by Claire Kendal My Copy: eBook, 361 pages Publication Date: April 3, 2014 Publisher: Harper Source: Purchased A terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep. Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won’t leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there. Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can’t be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels […]


Review: Undone by Wendy Higgins

Review: Undone by Wendy Higgins
15 January, 2018 / 0 Comments

Undone (Unknown #3) by Wendy Higgins My Copy: ARC eBook Publication Date: December 5, 2017 Publisher: Self-Published Source: Inkslinger Amber Tate never dreamed their heart-wrenching escape from the enemy’s attack would lead them to the most beautiful place she’s ever seen, marred by one ugly fact; it’s under enemy control. Like everywhere else in the world, Elmendorf military base in Alaska has been captured, and it’s time to take it back—all of it—one base, one city at a time. After losing so much, Amber clings to the only precious person she has left, and vows to sacrifice everything to help save the Earth. Remy […]


Review: Darkness Visible: A Memoir of Madness by William Styron

Review: Darkness Visible: A Memoir of Madness by William Styron
12 January, 2018 / 0 Comments

Darkness Visible: A Memoir of Madness by William Styron  My Copy: ePub eBook, 71 pages Publication Date: January 8, 1992 Publisher: Vintage Source: Library A work of great personal courage and a literary tour de force, this bestseller is Styron’s true account of his descent into a crippling and almost suicidal depression. Styron is perhaps the first writer to convey the full terror of depression’s psychic landscape, as well as the illuminating path to recovery. My Review I thought this was a very interesting read. People who suffer from depression (or likely any mental illness) or those who know a sufferer or even just someone who […]


Review: Sex, Lies, and Online Dating by Rachel Gibson

Review: Sex, Lies, and Online Dating by Rachel Gibson
11 September, 2017 / 1 Comment

Sex, Lies, and Online Dating by Rachel Gibson My Copy: Paperback, 352 pages Publication Date: January 24, 2006 Publisher: Avon Source: Purchased SEX… What is it about men anyway? Bad cars, bad jobs, even bad teeth — nothing convinces them that they can’t snare a Size Two Babe with a D-cup chest. And after way too many internet dates with men named “luvstick” and “bigdaddy182,” Lucy Rothschild should know. LIES… But sitting across from her now is “hardluvnman,” and he seems different — sensitive, honest, and hot! He says he’s a plumber, while Lucy claims she’s a nurse! She’s really a mystery writer, dating […]


Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard
4 September, 2017 / 0 Comments

Glass Sword (Red Queen #2) by Victoria Aveyard My Copy: ePub eBook Publication Date: February 9, 2016 Publisher: HarperTeen Source: Purchased If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different. Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control. The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind. Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare […]


Review: The Annihilation of Foreverland by Tony Bertauski

Review: The Annihilation of Foreverland by Tony Bertauski
28 August, 2017 / 0 Comments

The Annihilation of Foreverland by Tony Bertauski My Copy: eBook, 265 pages Publication Date: December 31, 2011 Publisher: Self-Published Source: Author When kids awake on an island, they’re told there was an accident. Before they can go home, they will visit Foreverland, an alternate reality that will heal their minds. Reed dreams of a girl that tells him to resist Foreverland. He doesn’t remember her name, but knows he once loved her. He’ll have to endure great suffering and trust his dream. And trust he’s not insane. Danny Boy, the new arrival, meets Reed’s dream girl inside Foreverland. She’s stuck in the fantasy land […]


Review: Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer

Review: Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer
21 August, 2017 / 0 Comments

Between the Lines (Between the Lines #1) by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer My Copy: Paperback, 352 pages Publication Date: June 26, 2012 Publisher: Simon Pulse Source: Borrowed Delilah is a bit of a loner who prefers spending her time in the school library with her head in a book—one book in particular. Between the Lines may be a fairy tale, but it feels real. Prince Oliver is brave, adventurous, and loving. He really speaks to Delilah. And then one day Oliver actually speaks to her. Turns out, Oliver is more than a one-dimensional storybook prince. He’s a restless teen who feels trapped […]


Review: The Wrong Girl by C.J. Archer

Review: The Wrong Girl by C.J. Archer
14 August, 2017 / 0 Comments

The Wrong Girl (The 1st Freak House Trilogy #1) by C.J. Archer My Copy: ePub eBook, 190 pages Publication Date: May 25, 2013 Publisher: Self-Published Source: Author It’s customary for Gothic romance novels to include a mysterious girl locked in the attic. Hannah Smith just wishes she wasn’t that girl. As a narcoleptic and the companion to an earl’s daughter with a strange affliction of her own, Hannah knows she’s lucky to have a roof over her head and food in her belly when so many orphans starve on the streets. Yet freedom is something Hannah longs for. She did not, however, want her […]