Category: Book Reviews


Review: One Tiny Lie by K.A. Tucker

Review: One Tiny Lie by K.A. Tucker
8 June, 2015 / 6 Comments

One Tiny Lie (Ten Tiny Breaths #2) by K.A. Tucker My Copy: Paperback Publication Date: June, 2013 Publisher: Atria Books Source: Library Livie has always been the stable one of the two Cleary sisters, handling her parents’ tragic death and Kacey’s self-destructive phase with strength and maturity. But underneath that exterior is a little girl hanging onto the last words her father ever spoke to her. “Make me proud,” he had said. She promised she would…and she’s done her best over the past seven years with every choice, with every word, with every action. Livie walks into Princeton with a solid plan, and […]


Review: Icons by Margaret Stohl

Review: Icons by Margaret Stohl
1 June, 2015 / 0 Comments

Icons (Icons #1) by Margaret Stohl My Copy: Paperback, 429 pages Publication Date: May, 2013 Publisher: Little, Brown Books Source: Traded for Your heart beats only with their permission. Everything changed on The Day. The day the windows shattered. The day the power stopped. The day Dol’s family dropped dead. The day Earth lost a war it didn’t know it was fighting. Since then, Dol has lived a simple life in the countryside — safe from the shadow of the Icon and its terrifying power. Hiding from the one truth she can’t avoid. She’s different. She survived. Why? When Dol and her best friend, […]


Review: The Cage by Megan Shepherd

Review: The Cage by Megan Shepherd
25 May, 2015 / 1 Comment

The Cage (The Cage #1) by Megan Shepherd My Copy: ARC eBook, 308 pages Publication Date: May 26, 2015 (Tomorrow!) Publisher: Balzer + Bray Source: Publisher via Edelweiss When Cora Mason wakes in a desert, she doesn’t know where she is or who put her there. As she explores, she finds an impossible mix of environments—tundra next to desert, farm next to jungle, and a strangely empty town cobbled together from different cultures—all watched over by eerie black windows. And she isn’t alone. Four other teenagers have also been taken: a beautiful model, a tattooed smuggler, a secretive genius, and an army brat who […]


Review: The Heir by Kiera Cass

Review: The Heir by Kiera Cass
18 May, 2015 / 0 Comments

The Heir (The Selection #4) by Kiera Cass My Copy: Paperback, 352 pages Publication Date: May 5, 2015 Publisher: HarpTeen Source: Purchased Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible. But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t […]


Review: Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

Review: Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll
11 May, 2015 / 0 Comments

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll My Copy: ARC eBook, 286 pages Publication Date: May 12, 2015 (Tomorrow!) Publisher: Simon & Schuster Source: Publisher via NetGalley HER PERFECT LIFE IS A PERFECT LIE. As a teenager at the prestigious Bradley School, Ani FaNelli endured a shocking, public humiliation that left her desperate to reinvent herself. Now, with a glamorous job, expensive wardrobe, and handsome blue blood fiancé, she’s this close to living the perfect life she’s worked so hard to achieve. But Ani has a secret. There’s something else buried in her past that still haunts her, something private and painful […]


Review: Fallen by Lauren Kate

Review: Fallen by Lauren Kate
4 May, 2015 / 0 Comments

Fallen (Fallen #1) by Lauren Kate My Copy: Paperback Publication Date: December, 2009 Publisher: Delacorte Press Source: Purchased What if the person you were meant to be with could never be yours? 17-year-old Lucinda falls in love with a gorgeous, intelligent boy, Daniel, at her new school, the grim, foreboding Sword & Cross . . . only to find out that Daniel is a fallen angel, and that they have spent lifetimes finding and losing one another as good & evil forces plot to keep them apart. Get ready to fall . . . My Review I enjoyed this book. The story kept my […]


Review: Unleashed by Sophie Jordan

Review: Unleashed by Sophie Jordan
27 April, 2015 / 0 Comments

Unleashed (Uninvited #2) by Sophie Jordan My Copy: Hardcover, 355 pages Publication Date: February 24, 2015 Publisher: HarperTeen Source: Library Unleashed, the romantic, high-stakes sequel to New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s Uninvited, is perfect for fans of James Patterson’s Confessions of a Murder Suspect. Davy has spent the last few months trying to come to terms with the fact that she tested positive for the kill gene HTS (also known as Homicidal Tendency Syndrome). She swore she would not let it change her, and that her DNA did not define her . . . but then she killed a man. […]


DNF: The Dead Lands

DNF: The Dead Lands
20 April, 2015 / 1 Comment

DNF Explanation for The Dead Lands by Benjamin Percy   How far I got: 131 pages The main reason I put this book down was because, honestly, I was just bored. While nothing was overly wrong with the book as a whole, I just couldn’t get into it. The plot was moving way too slow for my liking. I mean, 131 pages in and hardly anything had actually happened. It was just soooo slow. I really didn’t feel any kind of connection with the characters. I’ve put it down and I can honestly say that I don’t have any interest in what happens. Aside […]


Review: The Prey

Review: The Prey
13 April, 2015 / 0 Comments

The Prey (The Hunt #2) by Andrew Fukuda My Copy: eBook, 336 pages Publication Date: January, 2013 Publisher: St. Martin’s Press Source: Library For Gene and the remaining humans—or hepers—death is just a heartbeat away. On the run and hunted by society, they must find a way to survive in The Vast… and avoid the hungry predators tracking them in the dark. But they’re not the only things following Gene. He’s haunted by the girl he left behind and his burgeoning feelings for Sissy, the human girl at his side. When they discover a refuge of exiled humans living high in the […]


Hits Stores Tomorrow Review: Superposition

Hits Stores Tomorrow Review: Superposition
6 April, 2015 / 0 Comments

Superposition by David Walton My Copy: ARC eBook, 244 pages Publication Date: April 7, 2015 (Tomorrow!) Publisher: Pyr Source: Publisher via Edelweiss Jacob Kelley’s family is turned upside down when an old friend turns up, waving a gun and babbling about an alien quantum intelligence. The mystery deepens when the friend is found dead in an underground bunker…apparently murdered the night before he appeared at Jacob’s house. Jacob is arrested for the murder and put on trial. As the details of the crime slowly come to light, the weave of reality becomes ever more tangled, twisted by a miraculous new technology and […]