Category: Book Reviews


Review: Fallen by Lauren Kate

Review: Fallen by Lauren Kate
4 May, 2015 / 0 Comments

Fallen (Fallen #1) by Lauren Kate My Copy: Paperback Publication Date: December, 2009 Publisher: Delacorte Press Source: Purchased What if the person you were meant to be with could never be yours? 17-year-old Lucinda falls in love with a gorgeous, intelligent boy, Daniel, at her new school, the grim, foreboding Sword & Cross . . . only to find out that Daniel is a fallen angel, and that they have spent lifetimes finding and losing one another as good & evil forces plot to keep them apart. Get ready to fall . . . My Review I enjoyed this book. The story kept my […]


Review: Unleashed by Sophie Jordan

Review: Unleashed by Sophie Jordan
27 April, 2015 / 0 Comments

Unleashed (Uninvited #2) by Sophie Jordan My Copy: Hardcover, 355 pages Publication Date: February 24, 2015 Publisher: HarperTeen Source: Library Unleashed, the romantic, high-stakes sequel to New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s Uninvited, is perfect for fans of James Patterson’s Confessions of a Murder Suspect. Davy has spent the last few months trying to come to terms with the fact that she tested positive for the kill gene HTS (also known as Homicidal Tendency Syndrome). She swore she would not let it change her, and that her DNA did not define her . . . but then she killed a man. […]


DNF: The Dead Lands

DNF: The Dead Lands
20 April, 2015 / 1 Comment

DNF Explanation for The Dead Lands by Benjamin Percy   How far I got: 131 pages The main reason I put this book down was because, honestly, I was just bored. While nothing was overly wrong with the book as a whole, I just couldn’t get into it. The plot was moving way too slow for my liking. I mean, 131 pages in and hardly anything had actually happened. It was just soooo slow. I really didn’t feel any kind of connection with the characters. I’ve put it down and I can honestly say that I don’t have any interest in what happens. Aside […]


Review: The Prey

Review: The Prey
13 April, 2015 / 0 Comments

The Prey (The Hunt #2) by Andrew Fukuda My Copy: eBook, 336 pages Publication Date: January, 2013 Publisher: St. Martin’s Press Source: Library For Gene and the remaining humans—or hepers—death is just a heartbeat away. On the run and hunted by society, they must find a way to survive in The Vast… and avoid the hungry predators tracking them in the dark. But they’re not the only things following Gene. He’s haunted by the girl he left behind and his burgeoning feelings for Sissy, the human girl at his side. When they discover a refuge of exiled humans living high in the […]


Hits Stores Tomorrow Review: Superposition

Hits Stores Tomorrow Review: Superposition
6 April, 2015 / 0 Comments

Superposition by David Walton My Copy: ARC eBook, 244 pages Publication Date: April 7, 2015 (Tomorrow!) Publisher: Pyr Source: Publisher via Edelweiss Jacob Kelley’s family is turned upside down when an old friend turns up, waving a gun and babbling about an alien quantum intelligence. The mystery deepens when the friend is found dead in an underground bunker…apparently murdered the night before he appeared at Jacob’s house. Jacob is arrested for the murder and put on trial. As the details of the crime slowly come to light, the weave of reality becomes ever more tangled, twisted by a miraculous new technology and […]


Hits Stores Tomorrow Review: Hausfrau

Hits Stores Tomorrow Review: Hausfrau
16 March, 2015 / 0 Comments

Hausfrau by Jill Alexander Essbaum My Copy: ARC eBook, 241 pages Publication Date: March 17, 2015 (Tomorrow!) Publisher: Random House Source: Publisher via NetGalley Anna Benz, an American in her late thirties, lives with her Swiss husband Bruno and their three young children in a postcard-perfect suburb of Zürich. Though she leads a comfortable, well-appointed life, Anna is falling apart inside. Adrift and increasingly unable to connect with the emotionally unavailable Bruno or even with her own thoughts and feelings, Anna tries to rouse herself with new experiences: German language classes, Jungian analysis, and a series of sexual affairs she enters into with an […]


Early Review: Leaving Amarillo

Early Review: Leaving Amarillo
9 March, 2015 / 0 Comments

Leaving Amarillo (Neon Dreams #1) by Caisey Quinn My Copy: ARC eBook, 285 pages Publication Date: March 17, 2015 (Next Week!) Publisher: William Morrow Source: Publisher via Edelweiss Dixie Lark hasn’t had it easy. She lost her parents in an accident when she was young and grew up in a ramshackle house on a dirt road in Amarillo with her ailing grandparents and overprotective older brother. Thanks to her grandfather, Dixie learned to play a mean fiddle, inspired by the sounds of the greats—Johnny and June, Waylon, and Hank. Her grandfather’s fiddle changed Dixie’s life forever, giving her an outlet for […]


Review: When We Collide

Review: When We Collide
6 March, 2015 / 0 Comments

When We Collide by A.L. Jackson My Copy: eBook, 239 pages Publication Date: August, 2012 Publisher: Sapphire Star Publishing Source: Author William has spent six years running from his past and the last eight months trying to rid his mind of the dreams that increasingly haunt his nights. Trapped in a world of false ambitions and feigned affections, William knows he’s reached a breaking point and something’s going to give. Maggie had lived her entire life without hope until one man showed her what it meant to be loved. He’d been her light in a lifetime of darkness. Six years […]


Hits Stores Tomorrow Review: Finding Jake

Hits Stores Tomorrow Review: Finding Jake
23 February, 2015 / 1 Comment

Finding Jake by Bryan Reardon My Copy: ARC eBook, 217 pages Publication Date: February 24, 2015 (Tomorrow!) Publisher: William Morrow & Company Source: Publisher via Edelweiss A heart-wrenching yet ultimately uplifting story of psychological suspense in which a parent is forced to confront what he does—and does not—know about his teenage son, in the vein of Reconstructing Amelia, Defending Jacob, and We Need to Talk about Kevin. While his successful wife goes off to her law office each day, Simon Connolly takes care of their kids, Jake and Laney. Now that they are in high school, the angst-ridden father should […]


DNF: Unwind

DNF: Unwind
20 February, 2015 / 2 Comments

DNF Explanation for Unwind by Neal Shusterman How far I got: 28% Keep in mind throughout reading my DNF explanation that I am merely basing my opinions on the first 28% of the book. I found this book to have an unrealistic concept. I don’t believe that parents would raise a child for 13-18 years only to have them “unwound,” which is just their way of saying “killed” for the purposes of donating organs to others. This just doesn’t seem plausible to me. The story starts off throwing the reader right into the action. Unfortunately, this doesn’t leave much room […]