What’s Next?

What’s Next?
11 October, 2012 / 12 Comments

What’s Next? is a weekly meme hosted by Icey Books.  For this meme,  I provide 3-5 books that I want/have to read soon and you vote on which one I should read next!  Super fun, I think! So…help me decide… Which one should I read next? Mystic City (Mystic City #1) by Theo Lawrence For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels. Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic […]


Blog Tour: Just Remember to Breathe Excerpt & GIVEAWAY!!

Blog Tour: Just Remember to Breathe Excerpt & GIVEAWAY!!
10 October, 2012 / 1 Comment

Today I have the privilege of participating in Enchanted Book  Promotions‘ blog tour for Just Remember to Breathe! Below, you will find the synopsis, an excerpt from  the book, and a GIVEAWAY of the book! So, what’s the book all about? Check out the cover and synopsis: Genre: New Adult RomancePub Date: August 30, 2012 Add to Goodreads Synopsis: Alex Thompson’s life is following the script. A pre-law student at Columbia University, she’s focused on her grades, her life, and her future. The last think she needs is to reconnect with the boy who broke her heart. Dylan Paris comes home […]


Blog Tour: The Saint’s Devilish Deal Excerpt & GIVEAWAY!!

Blog Tour: The Saint’s Devilish Deal Excerpt & GIVEAWAY!!
9 October, 2012 / 7 Comments

Today I have the privilege of participating in Enchanted Book Promotions’ blog tour for The Saint’s Devilish Deal by Kristina Knight. Below, you will find the synopsis, an excerpt from the book, and a GIVEAWAY of Knight’s debut novel, $5 to Amazon, anda Kristina Knight author swag! So, what’s the book all about?  Check out the cover and synopsis: Genre: Contemporary Romance Pub Date: October 1, 2012 Add to Goodreads Synopsis: Esmerelda Quinn has been looking for a place to belong since her parents were killed in a car crash when she was young. The closest thing to home has always […]


Newsday Tuesday!

Newsday Tuesday!
9 October, 2012 / 0 Comments

It’s time for Newsday Tuesday again! Newsday Tuesday is a weekly feature here on SIK Book Reviews.  The point of it is to inform my readers about anything new and interesting I’ve found out in the world of books.  This can include upcoming book releases, books that are turning into movies, and upcoming events on this blog.  Enjoy!    New and/or Interesting Tid-bits: Fans of The Sweet Trilogy by Wendy Higgins:     Wendy Higgins has released the Halloween scene from Sweet Evil from Kaidan’s point of view!  It’s awesome!  Check it out here.  This scene reminds me of what it’s like […]


From the Review Pile: Falling in Love

From the Review Pile: Falling in Love
4 October, 2012 / 2 Comments

From the Review Pile is a meme hosted by Stepping Out of the Page every Thursday. The aim of this meme is to showcase books that you’ve received for review, but haven’t yet got around to reading, in order to give the book some extra publicity. I just received this book today from the author in exchange for an honest review. I hope to get to it soon!! Falling in Love by Stephen Bradlee Pub Date: August 9, 2012 Genre: Contemporary Women’s Fiction Synopsis: Sherry Johnson is young, beautiful, bright, and athletic.  She has everything going for her, except for one thing. […]


Vow to the Older Book: October, 2012

Vow to the Older Book: October, 2012
3 October, 2012 / 2 Comments

Vow to the Older Book is a meme hosted by me (Sam @SIK Book Reviews). I vow to read one “older” book per month in an attempt to break away from the book reviewer’s tendency to only read/review new releases. To participate and/or to see full rules, please visit my Vow to the Older Book page. Specials (Uglies #3) by Scott Westerfeld Pub Date: May 9, 2006My Copy: eBook, 245 pages Find this book on: Goodreads | Amazon Tally thought they were a rumour, but now she’s one of them. A Special. A superamped fighting machine, engineered to keep the uglies down and […]


Blog Tour: What Hides Within — Guest Post & GIVEAWAY!!

Blog Tour: What Hides Within — Guest Post & GIVEAWAY!!
3 October, 2012 / 5 Comments

Today I have the privilege of participating in Pure Textuality‘s blog tour, What Hides Within! Below, you will find the synopsis, a guest post (character interview) from the author (Jason Parent), and a GIVEAWAY of the book! So, what’s the book all about?  Check out the cover and synopsis: Genre: Horror, Suspense, Dark HumorPub Date: July 25, 2012 Add to Goodreads Synopsis: In all of us, there is darkness. In Clive, it’s tangible, and it’s aching to get out. What Hides Within tells the story of a man held captive by an unknown evil. Clive Menard is a spineless slacker […]


Newday Tuesday!

Newday Tuesday!
2 October, 2012 / 0 Comments

It’s time for Newsday Tuesday again! Newsday Tuesday is a weekly feature here on SIK Book Reviews.  The point of it is to inform my readers about anything new and interesting I’ve found out in the world of books.  This can include upcoming book releases, books that are turning into movies, and upcoming events on this blog.  Enjoy!    New and/or Interesting Tid-bits: The second official Life of Pi trailer: Ten Best Narrators in Literature to date…     Antoine Wilson lists narrators that he thinks are the 10 best in literature.  The list includes characters such as Huck Finn from The […]


Best of the Bunch — September 2012

Best of the Bunch — September 2012
30 September, 2012 / 2 Comments

Best of the Bunch is a meme hosted by Always Lost in Stories on the last day  of each month. The aim of this meme is to go through all the books we’ve read in that particular month and reward our favourite one with the label ‘best of the bunch’. This month I read the following books: Pretties (Uglies #2) by Scott Westerfeld | my review | Rating: 3.5/5  CAGED (Caged #1) by Amber Lynn Natusch | my review | Rating: 4/5  The Unloved by Jennifer Snyder | my review | Rating: 4/5  She Wulf by Sheryl Steines | my review | […]


Review: What’s Left of Me

Review: What’s Left of Me
28 September, 2012 / 4 Comments

What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang Pub Date: Sept. 18, 2012 My Copy: eBook, approx. 385 pages Find this book on: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Kobo I should not exist. But I do. Eva and Addie started out the same way as everyone else — two souls woven together in one body, taking turns controlling their movements as they learned how to walk, how to sing, how to dance. But as they grew, so did the worried whispers. Why aren’t they settling? Why isn’t one of them fading? The doctors ran test, the neighbours shied away, and their parents begged for more […]