14 April, 2017

Red Queen (Red Queen #1) by Victoria Aveyard

My Copy: ePub eBook
Publication Date: February 10, 2015
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Purchased

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.

My Review

This was a really good read. I bought it a while ago and when I decided to read it now, I read the synopsis and wasn’t sure I was really in the mood for this kind of story. Then I looked at the average rating on Goodreads and decided I’d give it a shot since so many people seem to love it. I’m glad I did!

It’s been a while since a dystopian/paranormal has really lived up to my expectations (dystopian is my favourite genre, so I expect a lot!). I’m excited to say that this one didn’t disappoint. If anything, it got me excited about the genre again!

I found a lot of similarities to The Hunger Games in this book. It’s a completely different story line, but does draw from some of the same world-building concepts. So, it’s not 100% unique, but that’s pretty much impossible these days with so many books out.

There were a couple big twists at the end. One I unfortunately saw coming, while the other completely shocked me!

I would recommend this book to fans of the genre and even those who aren’t fans of the genre but just enjoy a good story with action and twists and turns! Fans of The Hunger Games and Shatter Me will not be disappointed with this one. I can’t wait to continue the series!!

Best Aspect: Story/World-building
Worst Aspect: Romance (but that’s just getting picky – the romance wasn’t a bad aspect at all)

 

Looking for more opinions of this book?

5/5 rating from Book Lover’s Life
4.5/5 rating from D. Ark reads
 4/5 rating from The Eater of Books!
2.9/5 rating from readers in wonderland
 2/5 rating from Novel Heartbeat

Post header photo designed by Freepik

(Visited 33 times, 1 visits today)

Other Posts You Might Like

Share

Posted 14 April, 2017 by Sam in Book Reviews, Books / 1 CommentTags: , , , , ,


Like what you see? Subscribe and get posts like this delivered to your inbox!

One Response to “Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard”