Review: The Book of You by Claire Kendal

3 April, 2018 / 1 Comment

The Book of You by Claire Kendal

My Copy: eBook, 361 pages
Publication Date: April 3, 2014
Publisher: Harper
Source: Purchased

A terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep.

Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won’t leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there.

Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can’t be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young woman on the witness stand.

Realizing that she bears the burden of proof, Clarissa unravels the twisted, macabre fairytale that Rafe has spun around them – and discovers that the ending he envisions is more terrifying than she could have imagined.

My Review

This book alternates in narration from first- to third-person. It’s a bit confusing when it switches from first-person to third-person narrative, especially when it happens without a space or break or anything and it just continues on as if it was always third-person. I’m not sure why the author decided to tell the story this way. To me, it doesn’t make sense to switch the narration. I didn’t feel it added anything to the story whatsoever.

The main character is easy to relate to and feel for. You definitely get what it feels like to be her and to be stalked and trapped by this mentally unstable man. I liked how she was strong in some ways (making sure to gather evidence in order to save herself), but also weak in other ways. Nobody is perfect, but she’s also not merely a cowering, helpless victim. She fights back.

This book only semi-captivated me. I thought it dragged in parts. I was also disappointed in the predictability; nothing really shocked me about this book. I don’t think it lived up to the hype and it’s absolutely positively not as good as either of the books mentioned in the synopsis.

Best Aspect: Writing
Worst Aspect: Romance

Looking for more opinions of this book?

 3/5 rating from Book Hooked Blog

Post header photo designed by Freepik

Other Posts You Might Like

Posted 3 April, 2018 by Sam in Book Reviews, Books / 1 CommentTags: , , , , , ,


Like what you see? Subscribe and get posts like this delivered to your inbox!

One Response to “Review: The Book of You by Claire Kendal”

  1. I don’t read a lot of thrillers, but I have gotten lucky with the ones I picked, because they were all so good. It can be rather confusing if the author just switches POVs without any indication. I wonder what the author was trying to accomplish by doing that.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge