27 April, 2015

book review

Unleashed (Uninvited #2) by Sophie Jordan


unleashedMy Copy:
Hardcover, 355 pages
Publication Date: February 24, 2015
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Library

Unleashed, the romantic, high-stakes sequel to New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s Uninvited, is perfect for fans of James Patterson’s Confessions of a Murder Suspect.

Davy has spent the last few months trying to come to terms with the fact that she tested positive for the kill gene HTS (also known as Homicidal Tendency Syndrome). She swore she would not let it change her, and that her DNA did not define her . . . but then she killed a man.

Now on the run, Davy must decide whether she’ll be ruled by the kill gene or if she’ll follow her heart and fight for her right to live free. But with her own potential for violence lying right beneath the surface, Davy doesn’t even know if she can trust herself.

My Review

One of the things that bugs me most about Young Adult books lately is the main character’s logic. It seems like all too often a YA novel’s protagonist will have a complete freak-out over something illogical. I guess that’s how teenagers are, though? It drives me crazy to read anyway. Davy has a moment like this in Unleashed. It was difficult for me to read through because I just couldn’t get behind her thought processes or decisions.

Honestly, Davy’s character bothered me a lot throughout this book, not just during her big teenage freak-out moment. It was one of those books where the main character is going through a rough time figuring out who she is and who she wants to be. But instead of sitting down and dealing with it, she just goes through the whole book pushing everyone away and going back and forth between hating herself and not hating herself as much and confusing everyone with her words and actions and it was just frustrating! She just couldn’t deal with the hand she’d been dealt and it affected this whole book.

Having ranted about Davy’s annoying and frustrating qualities, I was still able to get into and enjoy her story. I still enjoyed the book quite a bit. I felt that the ending was a bit abrupt, but hey, at least Davy finally made a decision at the end and matured, even if it didn’t happen until the VERY end.

I still love the unique concept of the story line and thought it was delivered well. I was captivated throughout. There was also a pretty unexpected twist near the end – at least I didn’t expect it!  I would like to read more from this author (I just hope her other main characters aren’t as frustrating as Davy!).

Best Aspect: Unique concept / Captivity factor
Worst Aspect: Main character’s frustrating qualities

 4 stars blue

Looking for more opinions of this book?

 2/5 rating from Reviews from a Bookworm

Previous books in the series

uninvited

(Visited 24 times, 1 visits today)

Other Posts You Might Like

Share

Posted 27 April, 2015 by Sam in Book Reviews, Books / 0 CommentsTags: , , , , , ,


Like what you see? Subscribe and get posts like this delivered to your inbox!

Comments are closed.