Release Day Review: That Night by Amy Giles

23 October, 2018 / 4 Comments

 

This book was okay.  It started off better than it finished.  It was captivating and interesting for about the first half, but then it lost its captivity factor and I found the last half to drag on and was a bit boring.  I even skimmed the last couple of chapters and I’m left with a feeling of dissatisfaction.

The concept of the story and the message is good.  The author wanted to show how gun violence doesn’t just affect the people directly involved, but the families and friends are victims too.  I get that the author wanted to focus on this aspect, but I just wish she would have told the reader more of what happened “that night.”  We don’t get to find out much information at all actually.  We know how many people died and some of the people involved, but very little details of what actually happened.  I wasn’t even positive that a gun was involved until I read the author’s note at the end of the book.  It seemed likely that was what happened, but it was never actually said.  This bothered me throughout the book because I just wanted to know what happened to those kids.

The characters were okay.  Lucas and Jess were both dealing with the loss of their brother, but they found each other and helped each other through some rough times.  The romance was cute, but I didn’t get excited about it.  I also didn’t ever feel that deepness that a story like this should have.  It didn’t make me really ache for these characters, even though they were dealing with a tragedy.

I don’t know.  This book was just okay for me.  Every aspect left me either disappointed or with a meh feeling.

Best Aspect: Writing/Captivity
Worst Aspect: Characters

About the book

My Copy: ARC eBook, 247 pages
Publication Date: October 23, 2018 (Today!)
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss

An emotional sophomore YA novel from acclaimed author Amy Giles, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jennifer Niven, about tragedy, love, and learning to heal.

The year since a mass shooting shook their Queens neighborhood has played out differently for Jess and Lucas, both of whom were affected by that night in eerily similar and deeply personal ways.

As Jess struggles to take care of her depressed mother, and Lucas takes up boxing under the ever-watchful eye of his overprotective parents, their paths converge. They slowly become friends and then something more, learning to heal and move forward together. But what does it mean to love after an unspeakable tragedy?

Feature photo originally designed by Freepik, modified by Sharing Inspired Kreations

Other Posts You Might Like

Posted 23 October, 2018 by Sam in Book Reviews, Books / 4 CommentsTags: , , , , , , , ,


Like what you see? Subscribe and get posts like this delivered to your inbox!

4 Responses to “Release Day Review: That Night by Amy Giles”

  1. I’m sorry this one left you feeling dissatisfied! I hate when the beginning starts off really well, but then drags at the end. I’m still looking forward to reading this one myself! Hopefully you enjoy your next read more. 🙂

    Lindsi @ Do You Dog-ear?

Leave a Reply